Kapeeka vs Hamis Diamond (SGW, 10-28-2023)

Softground Wrestling, Uganda

A request! I’ve vaguely known about this stuff from people posting clips that hit my X timeline or whatever, and being honest I got a little tired of it quickly, which I do with “viral” stuff. Like when everyone thought “Blue Kane” was just a riot. This stuff at least seemed reckless and spirited, but I just don’t react well to “viral” stuff. I don’t want to see the same thing 28 times a day is all. Don’t really care what it is.

(Requests open and tips always appreciated!)

I also read before starting this match that SGW did a GoFundMe, which I think is cool. Listen, anyone can imitate moves and promos they’ve seen from shows, but running a carny GoFundMe is a true pro strat. And getting $2000 of it out of Will Ospreay is brilliant. That dude tried to get fans to buy his “mum” a car that one time. Getting $2K from him is kinda like that show “Leverage.”

This is an ambulance match. There is canned crowd noise layered over relentless chanting/singing from the small gathering of live viewers.

Move. Move. Move. Move. Move. Lex Luger emotive vocal selling.

Alright.

I’ll gladly do some sort of make-up review, but I’m less than five minutes into this and cannot reasonably spend 12 more watching. I’m glad this is a fun thing for the people doing it to do and watch, and I’m glad it’s something some other people want to spend time watching on the internet. I get why clips of the highlights are amusing to people, but an entire match that spans a 20+ minute video?

The “style” of this just is not at all why I watch wrestling. Makes sense that Will Ospreay is mad for it, or for eight-second videos of it anyway.

NR