“Who are you to doubt El Dandy?” (WCW, 1-25-1999)

Screen Shot 2018-09-12 at 11.43.08 PM.png

After two months on the shelf, U.S. champion Bret Hart is back in WCW, and President Ric Flair has ordered that he will defend his title at SuperBrawl in February. So Bret speaks with Mean Gene Okerlund about it all.

Okerlund: “I’ve set up camp back in the locker room area with this man, Bret ‘The Hitman’ Hart, and as you heard earlier on, ‘The Nature Boy’ Ric Flair, as President of WCW, announcing a mandatory United States title defense for Bret ‘The Hitman’ Hart. That’s coming up on February the 21st at SuperBrawl. Tonight, however, in a non-title bout, you’ve got Booker T. You’ve got a full plate here, I must say.”

Hart: “I don’t know what Ric Flair’s problem is, you know? You know, I’ve always been a jam-up guy, I’ve always been — I’ve always been a guy that’s never ducked anything, anybody, any time, anywhere. Now Ric Flair, you know what this is? This is a case of a guy that’s carrying around a grudge. He’s had a grudge against me since I’ve come here, and that’s fine. He wants to throw me in a ring tonight with Booker T? Who is Booker T? Who is this guy to even have a match with me, let alone a non-title match ’cause he’s a LOSER, he’s not gonna get a title shot, you can forget about that.”

Okerlund: “He is not a loser, you know that–”

Hart: “He’s a loser! Now Booker T, I wanna ‘axe’ you a question. Have you got the guts to step in the ring with ‘The Excellence of Execution’ tonight? Do you know that your life is on the line, your career is on the line? All the little kids at home, they’re gonna watch me tear you up and break you into little pieces. Is that what you want? I’m sure that’s what Ric Flair wants!”

Okerlund: “Well, I’ll tell you one thing about Booker T, this man has held numerous titles in World Championship Wrestling, and there’s a guy that would be deserving of a chance at your United States title.”

Hart: “Let me tell you about who deserves a shot at the United States heavyweight championship–”

Okerlund: “Let’s hear it!”

Hart: “I’m the champion, I ought to know! I’ve been sizing up guys since I came to the WCW, and I think the one guy that stands out the most, the guy that I think has earned a title shot, El Dandy, I think you’re a heck of a wrestler, you’re a great technician in the ring, and you’re a jam-up guy! I don’t see any reason–”

Okerlund: “Whoa, wait a minute. El Dandy has been wrestling in the cruiserweight division here, please!”

Hart: “He’s a great wrestler!”

Okerlund: “He’s a great wrestler but my goodness sakes, at 50 pounds difference–”

Hart: “Who are you to doubt El Dandy? ‘Cause this guy’s a serious professional.”

Okerlund: “Well let’s talk about some serious contenders–”

Hart: “How about Hypnosis? Let’s throw that guy in–”

Okerlund: “Psicosis?!”

Hart: “Whatever, whatever, he’s a great wrestler. You can say what you want, you can try to tear these guys down and take them down, but they’re great wrestlers! He’s a high flyer of the highest magnitude! This guy’s a serious–”

Okerlund: “But he’s still a cruiserweight!”

Hart: “OK, how about Dean Malenko? I was gonna give him a title shot, he was a big man, wanted to injure me. Hey, come injure me now you little punk! He’s sitting at home with some kind of hokey injury. This is a REAL injury, Dean Malenko! This is a groin pull the likes you’ve never seen in your whole life!”

Okerlund: “Well he right now is nursing a very bad sprained ankle, and as far as that groin pull, you know people that compete in football and basketball, a lot of champions have to play hurt.”

Hart: “What, are you saying I won’t play hurt? I’ll play hurt! I’m gonna play hurt tonight! And I’m gonna take this, uh, Booker T and show exactly what I said a minute ago, he doesn’t deserve a title shot. And Ric Flair, you can go ahead and bring up your grudge, you’ve got some kind of a grudge on me, you can try to force me into situations, you’re gonna put me in a title match with whomever you want, whenever you want. That’s fine, Ric Flair, that’s fine. You know why you’re jealous of me? Because I beat you! I beat you the day I came in, and I beat you every time I ever stepped in the ring with you, and you just got a grudge against me, that’s all! Am I right? Am I right? Yeah, I’m right!”

Rating: NR. This is the best Bret Hart promo of all time.

One thought on ““Who are you to doubt El Dandy?” (WCW, 1-25-1999)

Comments are closed.