“Hey Bischoff and the WCW: I quit” (WCW, 3-29-1999)

Screen Shot 2018-09-13 at 4.10.57 PM.png

WCW Monday Nitro, Toronto, Ontario, Canada

The week before this, Hart said he could beat Goldberg in five minutes. He’s here with a mic for a pretty famous segment. And it’s Toronto, so the crowd is happy to see him.

Hart’s wearing a Calgary Hitmen sweater, soaking in the cheers that he hasn’t heard in some time.

“You know, it’s nice to be in a place where you get a little respect. It’s nice to go to a place where you see some kids in the audience, too. You sit back there all night and you listen to everybody, and I know everybody’s all upset about the ratings and stuff, so I’m not gonna worry about very much tonight. I think I’m gonna start off with a little bit of ‘O, Canada.'”

Hart recites a bit of the national anthem. It’s lapped up.

“Hey, Bischoff, put that in your pipe and smoke it! I’ve been in the WCW for over a year. Five-time world champion. The best there is, the best there was, and the best that there ever will be, and I can’t get a match with anybody.

“You’ve got Ric Flair, the world champion back there hiding under a table somewhere. You’ve got Hollywood Hogan, I guess he’s afraid of me. But now I’m gonna get right to the point. I came to the WCW to earn a reputation, not to lose it. And I got one point I wanna make. I wanna prove that I can excellently execute any wrestler I want any time that I want! So let’s cut to the chase.

“The franchise player. William Goldberg. Ya big chicken! He thinks ’cause he’s built like a tank that he can run over top of me. Well I’m not going anywhere, Bill Goldberg, ’til you come out of that dressing room, biting your fingernails, trembling with fear, ’cause you can take me on right here tonight in Toronto, Canada!

“He’s putting up all this money to take on Steve Austin. Well let me tell you something: I beat Steve Austin every time I ever fought him! He likes to fancy himself some kind of big, fancy, tough football player, well I got news for ya, Bill Goldberg.”

Hart takes off his sweater to reveal a Tie Domi Toronto Maple Leafs sweater, tucked into his jeans, and he untucks it. People are mad for this.

“This is hockey country, Bill Goldberg! Put away your silly helmet and come out here and fight me!”

Goldberg’s music starts to a chorus of boos and, because WCW was stupid, some obviously piped in “Goldberg” chants. Goldberg’s in his streets, too, but he steps into the ring. Hart calls Goldberg on, Goldberg spears him, and…he’s out on top of Hart.

Bret’s down. Goldberg’s down. Everyone’s confused. They stay down for a bit. Hart starts to stir just a little bit. Now he’s ready to sit up, and he rolls Goldberg’s body off of his.

Hart covers — 1, 2, 3, he counts it himself. He takes off the Leafs sweater to reveal a steel plate covering his body. Everyone loves it. Doug Dellinger is in to check on Goldberg. That’s who I’d send.

“Yeah, go ahead and respect that! Hey Bischoff and the WCW: I quit.”

And Bret Hart walks out of the ring, argues with JJ Dillon, and walks out of WCW, brushing aside Eric Bischoff right before they fade to commercial. They show us a bit more of Bischoff, who hasn’t been seen in a while, so you KNOW it’s real, daddy!

Rating: NR. It’s a pretty great segment. Bret was in front of fans who still loved him in Toronto, got the exact reaction he needed, and everyone created a good TV moment. Bret wouldn’t be back on TV until September, taking some time off at first to heal his nagging groin injury, and then extra time after the passing of his brother Owen in May.

2 thoughts on ““Hey Bischoff and the WCW: I quit” (WCW, 3-29-1999)

Comments are closed.